My great aunt (who I call Ma Ma Toots) used to laugh whenever things went wrong and say “Well, we’re just making memories.”

A few weeks ago I thought about this when my mom came over. I was making up a chicken noodle casserole in my own happy little rhythm…until the last step (prior to baking), which said Add chicken to the mixture.

It was then that I realized, I had no chicken. Not in the pantry, refrigerator or freezer. It was a really stressful moment. My eyes welled up with tears. I turned to my mother and half laughing said, “Ma Ma would say that I just made a memory!

We make a lot of mistakes, dirty laundry and memories in this house, so I posted this sign in my laundry room today. The plan is to paint it on the wall once the laundry room gets a makeover. Thank You, God for memories. Thank You for clothes with grass stains, blood, sweat, tears, and ink pen marks. Thank You for laughter, even in the midst of tears.

And, just so you know, tuna noodle casserole is good enough when you find yourself out of chicken. 🙂

