I have to be perfectly honest friends, I very much struggle at finding joy in motherhood. Not when I look at the big picture and realize how important it is. Not when my sweet boy hugs and kisses me and tells me I’m great and he loves me. No friends, the times I struggle are when I’m cleaning runny poop out of underwear (my son has been potty trained for over a year, what’s up with that??) or deal with a temper tantrum in the middle of the grocery store or find myself reading that book for the hundredth time in a row…you get the picture. It’s the very unglamorous parts of this job that get downright discouraging.

How do we deal with the mundane? How do we continue to see our mothering and homemaking as a mission field of utmost importance? How am I supposed to find joy in the midst of the (literal) poop?

The answer is to be reminded of why I’m doing this in the first place and who it is ultimately about. There are two great blog posts I came across recently that are helping me so much. The first is Motherhood as a Mission Field by Rachel Jankovic at Desiring God Ministries. Rachel writes

Even if you have a great perspective on your role in the kingdom, it is easy to lose sight of it in the mismatched socks, in the morning sickness, in the dirty dishes. It is easy to confuse intrigue with value, and begin viewing yourself as the least valuable part of the Church.

There are a number of ways in which mothers need to study their own roles, and begin to see them, not as boring and inconsequential, but as home, the headwaters of missions.

At the very heart of the gospel is sacrifice, and there is perhaps no occupation in the world so intrinsically sacrificial as motherhood. Motherhood is a wonderful opportunity to live the gospel.

The second article is called Little Souls Entrusted to Our Care by Lindsay on Passionate Homemaking. She writes a short post about the two little ones that God has entrusted in her care (with one on the way!) and then ends with this wonderful quote from Carolyn Mahaney:

The world may not applaud us for wiping running noses, driving in carpools, or talking with our teenager into the wee hours of the morning. And until they are trained, our children might not thank us either. But as we set aside our own selfish desires and glorify God by joyfully serving our children, we are pursuing true greatness according to the Bible. Let us do so with tenderness, affection, and with a smile!

Let these words from wise women refresh you today as a Mother. I’ll plant them in my brain and heart as I go wipe up a sticky mess on my kitchen table now.

 

