Today my favorite things all come from the “children’s wing” of our house. Let’s face it though, my 3 year old pretty much dominates the whole house. But I can pretend he has a designate area, right?

Name banners

I made these banners out of scrapbook paper to announce Claire’s name to the family. These are all the rage on the interwebs, but the fancy schmancy mamas out there make them with fabric. I intended to make them with fabric also, but I already had scrapbook paper sitting in my closet. Good Enough! 🙂

50's chair

This awesome piece of furniture came from a friend who no longer had room for it. He found it at a secondhand store. The best part is that it was made in the 50’s and obviously recovered in the 60’s or 70’s. I’m in love with the orange leather. It makes a great bed-time reading chair.

The kid bathroom

My pregnant belly would not allow me to bend around the glass shower doors to give James a bath in the kid bathroom. So, at 9pm one evening I made, er asked persuasively, my hubby to take the shower doors down. It was so easy! We found this darling alphabet shower curtain at Target, which just happened to match the frog hamper from Toys ‘R Us & jungle animal bathroom decor from Wal-Mart that I received as baby shower gifts almost 4 years ago. And bonus–I get to hear all about which animal starts with what letter while James is pooping. (You’re jealous, aren’t you?)

Reading nook

When in need of a reading nook in your play room, it’s a good idea to re-purpose an old crib mattress and some mismatched pillows from previous living rooms. If you can get a handsome little guy to read you “The Very Hungry Caterpillar” from said reading nook, even better! If you want to learn how to make the Perfect reading nook for your little ones, check out Thrifty Decor Chick, but I’m pretty happy with my Good Enough nook.

