Admittedly, I don’t follow the tv show “The Biggest Loser” but thoroughly enjoy watching the season finale episodes. While watching the opening to this season’s finale, there was a small clip that caught my attention. A mother daughter team is sitting together talking on camera and the very obese daughter says “But what if I get there and I can’t do it, Mama?” to which her mother replies “But what if you get there and you can?

This is a powerful example for so many of us to change our way of thinking. My self-destructive habit is to be like the daughter. I often feel or tell myself that I can’t run. Training for a 5k pushed me way out of my comfort zone and now training for a half marathon feels impossible. I keep thinking “What if I can’t? What if I try and fail?” To get past this to victory I often have to rely on the encouragement and will power of others who speak to me (through words or actions) “What if you can?

A simple thank you isn’t adequate enough for everyone who is helping me in this journey. And it can’t be stated enough, that whatever challenges you are facing, you can do it too. Go for it!

