Before the tragic events of last week, I was thinking about the fundraising for our West Side Park and dreaming of what the park would be like next year. I had visions of springtime: bundling up my sweet newborn and holding him or her while big brother James got to play on the new playground equipment. Even though that dream was shattered by the harsh reality of our miscarriage, there are a couple of things that keep me on task to raise money for the park.

The first is that sweet little toddler face sitting next to me right now. My son James is such a happy guy who needs a safe community and a safe place to play when the weather is nice. He would directly benefit from these efforts, as would the other kids in our community.

The second is the memory of my child who left us so early. Our target date for installing the equipment is April, which happens to be the same month that I was due. This would mean so much to me to see the playground built at the time that I was expecting to meet the newest addition to my family.

In the midst of the pain, I hope to press on toward the goal. So far, SeeMamaRun has raised almost $1,400 for Thomasboro’s West Side Park. Thanks so much for all of your support. I cherish your kind words and donations.

