God ordains our steps. We forget this often. But sometimes we get glimpses into why He sets our path in a certain direction.

On July 30th last year I was in a hospital bed waiting to give birth to Baby Claire. A nurse who was about to end her shift checked me in and then handed me over to a labor & deliver nurse who introduced her self as Anne (pronounced “Anna”). Nothing about this morning seemed extraordinarily different than the morning I checked into the hospital to give birth to James, except this time we were in Carbondale in summer time instead of Urbana in winter time.

But as the day progressed, there was just something unusual about this nurse. It wouldn’t be until months later that God would unfold to me why Anne and I had been placed together that day.

Anne spent lots of time with me and answered all my questions in detail and with great patience. However, she left my room at odd times. She told me that the music from my playlist was making her emotional, but somehow I didn’t figure out that it affected her so deeply that she was fighting back tears. I was kind of busy with that whole being-in-labor thing at that point so I didn’t have much brain power to question why.

When it was getting closer to delivery, I felt the overwhelming need to tell Anne that Claire is my rainbow baby. I told her about the child I miscarried and watched her eyes fill up with tears. What a precious gift that this lady who I had just met that morning welled up with tears at the story of my pain and my joy. She went back and added a note to Claire on the card that she and the rest of the delivery team had signed.

Anne told me that it was no accident that we were together that day, God had brought us together for a reason. A few days later I posted a photo of my husband, me, Claire, my doctor and Anne. Someone recognized Anne and tagged her in the photo and we became Facebook friends. She read my blog and then one day left this comment:

“When my daughter, Emily, was 13, I made her an ABC scrapbook (a page for each letter of the alphabet – each for a personality trait – ie A is for actress…) ‘I’ is for interior decorator. The page was about painting her room red and the saying on the page was ‘Just when I needed a little color in my life, you brought the whole rainbow.’ Emily died at age 16, and that saying is on her head stone. So you see, I also have a rainbow child. At her funeral, one of the songs we played was ‘You are My Sunshine.’ When you were in labor, you had a play list with ‘girl’ songs. I loved it, even though I sometimes had to leave your room to hide the tears. Being present when you delivered your rainbow baby was a blessing for me. I am grateful to have been there.”

Thank you, sweet Anne, for being there for me and my rainbow baby. Thank you for sharing that sweet story with me. I never met Emily on earth, but I hope to meet her in heaven some day. I’m so glad God brought you to my bedside nearly a year ago.

